An Overview of ITIL Certification Exams

An Overview of ITIL Certification Exams

For a professional who is interested in getting certified in ITIL, there are multiple levels of ITIL certification exams which need to be cleared. These start with the basic ITIL Foundation level exam and end with the ITIL Master Level Exam. A complete overview of the ITIL Certification Exams is given below.

Overview of itil Certification exams

ITIL Foundation

ITIL Foundation is an entry level certification offering a general awareness of the key elements, basic concepts and the technologies used in the ITIL service lifecycle. The ITIL Foundation certification covers all 5 areas of the ITILservice lifecycle including the linkage between different stages of the ITIL lifecycle. There are no prerequisites for this certification and anyone can appear for the exam.

The target audience for the ITIL Foundation Level certification course is

  • Those who need to understand the basics of the ITIL framework.

  • Those who need to understand how ITIL can be utilized in order to improve IT Service Management within an organization.

  • IT professionals who are already working which has implemented ITIL and they need to help with the service improvement.

ITIL Practitioner

The next stage after the ITIL Foundation is the ITIL Practitioner. It was developed to bridge the gap between the Foundation and Intermediate levels. ITIL Practitioner is the latest entry to the ITIL certification program, and the exam was conducted for the first time in 2016.

ITIL Practitioner complements all levels of knowledge from the ITIL certification scheme as it helps to make sure that ITSM is working properly with the business.

In order to take the ITIL Practitioner exam, candidates must hold an ITIL Foundation certificate. ITIL Practitioner is not a prerequisite for the ITIL Intermediate Level qualifications.

ITIL Intermediate Level Certifications

The ITIL Intermediate Level stage is modular in nature, with every module focusing on a different aspect of IT Service Management. The modules can be classified as ITIL Service Lifecycle or ITIL Service Capability modules.

The Service Capability modules are most suitable for those who are looking to gain specialized knowledge in one or more processes, with a focus on execution and interaction of ITIL practices.

The ITIL Service Lifecycle Modules are:

  • ITIL Service Strategy

  • ITIL Service Design

  • ITIL Service Transition

  • ITIL Service Operation

  • TIL Continual Service Improvement

The ITIL Service Capability modules are:

  • ITIL Operational Support and Analysis (OSA)

  • ITIL Planning, Protection and Optimization (PPO)

  • ITIL Release, Control and Validation (RCV)

  • ITIL Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA)

ITIL Expert

The ITIL Expert Level qualification is an advanced certification which covers in detail all the process and practices across all disciplines of ITIL. This is a prerequisite for the ITIL Master Level certification. The Expert Level certification is given to the candidates who have achieved the required credits from the ITIL Foundation, Practitioner and Intermediate level modules, and have superior knowledge and skill base in ITIL Best Practices.

Some key requirements for a candidate to take the ITIL Expert level certification are:

  • Every candidate should possess the ITIL Foundation certificate or an equivalent Bridge certification.

  • Candidates should have earned a minimum total of 17 credits from the Foundation and Intermediate modules.

  • The Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) module must then be taken and passed to achieve the minimum requirement of a total of 22 credits.

ITIL Master

The ITIL Master Level Certification validates the ability of a person to apply the ITIL principles, methods and techniques in the workplace or in practical assignments involving real-world situations. There is no fixed syllabus or training course for this qualification since each candidate will choose a situation of their choice.

For a candidate to be eligible for the ITIL Master certification, the following are the prerequisites:

  • ITIL Expert certificate

  • Work experience in IT service management for at least five years in leadership, managerial or higher management advisory levels.

A professional preparing to get certified in ITIL thus needs to follow the explained steps for attaining the required credits to clear each stage of the certification exams.

Request for Training

Phone number ( required * )

You may select multiple Courses
Live virtual classroom
Select your preferred mode of contact

By clicking "Submit", you agree to our Terms of Conditions, Privacy Policy.
© 2021 Invensis Learning Pvt Ltd.
  • PMI®, PMP®, CAPM®, PMI-ACP®, PMBOK are registered marks of the Project Management Institute. Inc.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • PRINCE2® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • The Swirl logoTM is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved
  • The Course on this page is offered by Invensis Learning, an Affiliate of Quint Consulting Services, an Accredited Training Organisation of The APM Group Ltd
  • DevOps Foundation® is registerd mark of the DevOps institute
  • COBIT® is a trademark of ISACA® registered in the United States and other countries
  • CSM, A-CSM, CSPO, A-CSPO, and CAL are registered trademarks of Scrum Alliance
  • Invensis Learning is an Accredited Training Provider of EXIN for all their certification courses and exams