What is ITIL V3? How is ITIL V3 different from V2?

What is ITIL V3? How is ITIL V3 different from V2?

The 3rd version of ITIL was first issued in May 2007 and is known as the ITIL V3 or 2007 edition. It consists of 26 processes and functions which are grouped into 5 volumes. They are based on the concept of service lifecycle structure. The latest edition of the V3 is the ITIL 2011 edition.

The framework of ITIL V3 is divided into 5 sections:

  1. Service Strategy

    Each organization needs to have a clear set of objectives and a proper well-planned business strategy in order to be successful. The business strategy of an organization explains how they intend to achieve their objective over time. Each unit of the organization needs to have a set of its own strategies and IT strategy is one among them. This IT strategy is defined by the Business Strategy and in turn, the IT Strategy provides support and validation for the Business Strategy. ITIL Service Strategy focuses on the concepts which can be used by the IT Service Provider to build their service strategy.

  2. Service Design

    The services of an organization should be designed keeping the business objectives in mind. The stage in the lifecycle of the service which converts the service strategy into a plan to deliver the business objectives is service design. ITIL Service Design provides the necessary guidance for the design and development of services and service management practices.

  3. Service Transition

    The role of ITIL Service Transition is to move services and service changes into operational use. ITIL Service Transition also introduces the service knowledge management system (SKMS) which has the ability to support organizational learning and assist in increasing the effectiveness and efficiency of all stages of the service lifecycle. This provides benefits to people with the knowledge and experience of others, helps to support decision-making and improve the management of services.

  4. Service Operation

    The main objective of IT service operations is to ensure that the required IT services are delivered efficiently and effectively as per the service level agreements to the business users and customers. Service operations are vital for an organization as meticulously designed and implemented process will be rendered ineffectual if the operations are ineffectively conducted. IT Service Operation also helps to improve the service as periodic activities for performance monitoring, assessment metrics and data gathering are systematically conducted.

  5. Continual Service Improvement

    Continual Service Improvement is a type of process which utilizes techniques from quality management in order to learn from prior successes and failures and aims to constantly increase the efficiency and effectiveness of IT services and processes.

How ITIL V3 Is different from ITIL V2

Many of the processes in V3 have been revised. The differences are as shown below.




1. There were 10 processes and 1 function in V2 There are 26 processes and 4 functions in V3
2. The ITIL V2 was more process-oriented The ITIL V3 is more service-oriented
3. The primary focus was on product, process, and people The primary focus is on product, process, people, and partners
4. It had over 700 pages of key publications It has over 1400 pages in 5 key service lifecycle publications.
5. It was focused on the support and delivery of IT services It is focused on the complete lifecycle of the IT services of the entire firm
6. The IT services and business were aligned with each other. The IT service and business are integrated with each other.
7. It outlined what should be done to improve processes It explains in detail the procedure to improve processes.
8. The library was organized in 7 books The library is organized in just 5 books
9. In V2, Demand management was discussed under Capacity Management In V3, Demand Management was introduced as a distinctive and strategic part of service management.
10. Only Service Level Management was discusses It introduced managing services as a portfolio.
11. IT Security management was covered in a separate book IT security management was made a part of the core volume of Service Design, to integrate it into the Service Lifecycle.
12. Supplier Management was covered under ICT Infrastructure management Supplier Management is now covered under the Service

The latest ITIL V3 has significantly improved and streamlined processes when compared to its predecessor. It covers more detail in a well-organized library, thereby benefitting IT service professionals who are getting certified in ITIL and the companies implementing ITIL concepts in their core activities.

Request for Training

Phone number ( required * )

You may select multiple Courses
Live virtual classroom
Select your preferred mode of contact

By clicking "Submit", you agree to our Terms of Conditions, Privacy Policy.
© 2021 Invensis Learning Pvt Ltd.
  • PMI®, PMP®, CAPM®, PMI-ACP®, PMBOK are registered marks of the Project Management Institute. Inc.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • PRINCE2® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • The Swirl logoTM is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved
  • The Course on this page is offered by Invensis Learning, an Affiliate of Quint Consulting Services, an Accredited Training Organisation of The APM Group Ltd
  • DevOps Foundation® is registerd mark of the DevOps institute
  • COBIT® is a trademark of ISACA® registered in the United States and other countries
  • CSM, A-CSM, CSPO, A-CSPO, and CAL are registered trademarks of Scrum Alliance
  • Invensis Learning is an Accredited Training Provider of EXIN for all their certification courses and exams