Becoming CRISC Certified: CRISC Certification Prerequisites

How to be CRISC Certified. Everything you need to know.

CRISC certification is awarded to experienced candidates in IT risk management and Information Security design, implementation, management and monitoring of controls. Outlined below are CRISC certification requirements before you can become CRISC certified.

CRISC Certification Requirements

To qualify for CRISC certification, the following prerequisites have to be met:

  • The candidate must possess IT risk management and information systems control experience. At least three (3) years of work experience is required of you in the capacity of Information Technology risk design and implementation management and expertise in Information Security Controls. In addition, candidates must have working experience across two (2) of the four (4) CRISC domains, with one being in Domain 1 or 2. The work experience is termed valid from the moment you apply for certification and must be gained within five years from that date, and no more than 10 years. In addition, it should be verified through relevant employers. Failure to meet this CRISC requirement, you’ll have no choice but to re-take the exam and pass it.
  • Successful completion of the examination is another CRISC certification prerequisite. ISACA’s CRISC examination is made open to any interested individual. However, the emphasis is on passing the examination. The exam is composed of 150 questions with the pass mark being 450 out of 800. Once you pass the exam, subsequent information is made available to apply for CRISC certification.
  • CRISC Certification Code of Professional Ethics Adherence. Successful aspirants for CRISC certification will have to adhere to, at all times, a Code of Professional Ethics laid out by ISACA.
  • ISACA Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Policy Adherence. Successful candidates will also be required to agree and adhere to CPE policy, in addition to the CRISC certification code of professional ethics.


Meeting current CRISC certification requirements is always a challenge for the most successful candidates. However, the aforementioned CRISC requirements will help guide you in acquiring your CRISC certificate.

CRISC certification is a globally recognized IT Risk and Information System Controls accreditation. To its holders, it adds value to their existing skills and puts them above their peers and help them secure lucrative salaries. Employers, on the other hand, prefer CRISC certified skill sets, thus confirming the high demand for certified individuals in this field.


Syllabus of CRISC Training Course

  • The Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control exam
  • The concepts of enterprise risk
  • Plan, execute, scrutinize and retain information systems controls
  • Risk: identification, evaluation, assessment, response, and monitoring
  • IS control design and execution
  • IS control maintenance and monitoring

Download detailed course syllabus

Download Syllabus


Who should take up CRISC training?

Job roles that can benefit from CRISC Certification training include, but are not limited to:

  • IT professionals
  • Risk professionals
  • Control professionals
  • Project managers
  • Business analysts
  • Compliance professionals

Invensis Learning’s practice tests for CRISC certification are modeled on the actual examination and draw from the syllabus. They are conceptualized by our team of subject matter experts. Practice tests give you a feel of what the CRISC certification examination will be like and the extent of knowledge that is required.

  • Type: Multiple choice examination questions
  • No. of Questions: 150 questions
  • Duration: 240 minutes duration
  • Open/Closed book: Closed book
  • Result: 450 marks (on a scale of 200-800) required to pass

There are no prerequisite to take the exam; however, in order to apply for certification you must meet the necessary experience requirements as determined by ISACA. A minimum of at least 3 years of cumulative work experience performing the tasks of a CRISC professional across at least three 3 CRISC domains is required for certification.

The course structure or outline of the instructor-led CRISC exam preparation training program is as follows:

  • Risk Management and Information Systems Control
  • Risk Response
  • Risk Monitoring
  • Information Systems Control Design and Implementation
  • Information Systems Control Maintenance and Monitoring

Corporate Training Solutions

  • Experienced & Industry Specific Trainers
  • Deliver sessions across continents via Live Online
  • Training in your Language
  • Customized Trainings

Training partner for Fortune 1000 companies

Request for Training

Phone number ( required * )

You may select multiple Courses
Live virtual classroom
Select your preferred mode of contact

By clicking "Submit", you agree to our Terms of Conditions, Privacy Policy.

Get the Invensis Learning Advantage

Highly qualified and Accredited Trainers

Training Satisfaction Guaranteed

Accredited High-Quality Courseware

Reinforce with Retrospective Session

Choose from a Wide Range of Courses

Access to all our Latest Resources

© 2021 Invensis Learning Pvt Ltd.
  • PMI®, PMP®, CAPM®, PMI-ACP®, PMBOK are registered marks of the Project Management Institute. Inc.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • PRINCE2® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • The Swirl logoTM is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved
  • The Course on this page is offered by Invensis Learning, an Affiliate of Quint Consulting Services, an Accredited Training Organisation of The APM Group Ltd
  • DevOps Foundation® is registerd mark of the DevOps institute
  • COBIT® is a trademark of ISACA® registered in the United States and other countries
  • CSM, A-CSM, CSPO, A-CSPO, and CAL are registered trademarks of Scrum Alliance
  • Invensis Learning is an Accredited Training Provider of EXIN for all their certification courses and exams