Route Map to Become ITIL Expert/ ITIL Credit System

Route Map to Become ITIL Expert/ ITIL Credit System

In an organization, an ITIL expert is a major asset who can improve services by providing ways to manage business risk and disruption of service, establishing cost-effective systems to manage demand for services and supporting business changes while maintaining a stable service environment.

The ITIL expert certification is meant for professionals who wish to become an expert in ITIL best practices. The path to becoming one starts at the Foundation level and moves on to the practitioner and intermediate level certifications which will make the candidate eligible to apply for the expert level certification. The entire journey is tracked by the ITIL credit system.

Once a recognized ITIL exam has been successfully completed, the certification and credits will be awarded to the candidate. The 5 levels of ITIL certification which the candidate can complete are:

  1. ITIL Foundation Level

  2. ITIL Practitioner Level

  3. ITIL Intermediate Level

  4. ITIL Expert Level

  5. ITIL Master Level

The 5 levels of ITIL certification

ITIL Foundation Level

  • It is an entry-level certification offering a general awareness of the key elements, basic concepts and the technologies used in the ITIL service lifecycle.

  • There are no prerequisites for this certification, and anyone can appear for the exam.

  • This certification covers all the 5 areas of the service lifecycle including the linkage between different stages of the ITIL lifecycle.

  • 2 credits are awarded on completion of the Foundation level course.

ITIL Practitioner Level

  • The next stage after Foundation is the Practitioner. It was developed to bridge the gap between the Foundation and Intermediate levels.

  • It is the latest entry in the ITIL certification program, and the exam was conducted for the first time in 2016.

  • 3 credits are awarded on completion of the Practitioner level course.

ITIL Intermediate Level

  • The Intermediate Level stage is modular in nature, with every module focusing on a different aspect of IT Service Management.

  • The modules can be classified as Service Lifecycle or Service Capability modules.

  • The following are the Service Lifecycle modules which carry 3 credits each:

    • ITIL Service Strategy

    • ITIL Service Design

    • ITIL Service Transition

    • ITIL Service Operation

    • ITIL CSI

  • The following are the Service Capability modules which carry 4 credits each.

    • ITIL RCV

    • ITIL PPO

    • ITIL SOA

    • ITIL OSA

  • A total of 17 credits are required from the Practitioner and Intermediate level courses, which the candidate can obtain by finishing either the Service Lifecycle modules or the Service Capability modules.

  • Upon achieving the required 17 credits, in addition to the 2 credits earned at the Foundation level, the candidate can proceed to the MALC level certification.

ITIL MALC certification

  • The ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) qualification is a required certification to earn the ITIL Expert credential.

  • By taking this training course, you will learn about the fundamental concepts of the ITIL Service Lifecycle, stakeholder and communication management, integration of processes, management of services, governance, measurement and improving service management.

  • 5 credits are awarded upon completion of this course.

ITIL Expert Level

  • The candidate must have earned a total of 22 credits in order to be eligible for the Expert level certification.

  • The Expert Level qualification is an advanced certification which covers in detail all the process and practices across all disciplines of ITIL.

  • This is a prerequisite for the ITIL Master Level certification.

  • The Expert Level certification is given to the candidates who have achieved the required credits from the Foundation, Practitioner and Intermediate level modules and have superior knowledge and skill base in ITIL Best Practices.

ITIL Master Level

  • The Master Level in ITIL validates the ability of a person to apply the ITIL principles, methods and techniques in the workplace or in practical assignments involving real-world situations.

  • There is no fixed syllabus or training course for this qualification since each candidate will choose a situation of their choice.

Getting certified as an ITIL Expert is an investment which will be fruitful in the long term. Once certified as an ITIL Expert, the candidate can work for large organizations and help restructure, realign and improve their IT practices in order to help them make the best out of their resources.

An Overview of IT Service Lifecycle

ITIL Course Credits
ITIL Foundation 2
ITIL Practitioner 3
ITIL Intermediate --
ITIL Service Strategy 3
ITIL Service Design 3
ITIL Service Transition 3
ITIL Service Operation 3
ITIL Expert --
ITIL Master --

Request for Training

Phone number ( required * )

You may select multiple Courses
Live virtual classroom
Select your preferred mode of contact

By clicking "Submit", you agree to our Terms of Conditions, Privacy Policy.
© 2021 Invensis Learning Pvt Ltd.
  • PMI®, PMP®, CAPM®, PMI-ACP®, PMBOK are registered marks of the Project Management Institute. Inc.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • PRINCE2® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • The Swirl logoTM is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved
  • The Course on this page is offered by Invensis Learning, an Affiliate of Quint Consulting Services, an Accredited Training Organisation of The APM Group Ltd
  • DevOps Foundation® is registerd mark of the DevOps institute
  • COBIT® is a trademark of ISACA® registered in the United States and other countries
  • CSM, A-CSM, CSPO, A-CSPO, and CAL are registered trademarks of Scrum Alliance
  • Invensis Learning is an Accredited Training Provider of EXIN for all their certification courses and exams