What is ITIL Foundation?

What is ITIL Foundation?

The ITIL Foundation is the basic entry-level certification, and it provides a general awareness of the important concepts, elements, and terminology used in the ITIL Service Lifecycle. It includes coverage of the links between the different lifecycle stages, the processes which are used and the contribution they make towards the service management practices. It is a mandatory qualification to clear other levels in the ITIL certification framework.

The ITIL Foundation certification is aimed at those professionals who require a basic understanding of ITIL and how it can be used to improve the IT service management in an organization.

Overview of ITIL Foundation

The general overview of the ITSM lifecycle is provided in the five core books in ITIL:

  1. Service Strategy

  2. Service Design

  3. Service Transition

  4. Service Operation

  5. Continual Service Improvement

Processes and Functions of ITIL Foundation

There are a total of 26 processes and 4 functions which are covered in the 5 core books. They are:

  1. Service Strategy:

    ITIL Service Strategy is one of the five modules in the ITIL Service Lifecycle stream at the ITIL Intermediate level. The ITIL Service Strategy certification course will give you a comprehensive overview of service strategy, including its design, development, and implementation.

    It includes the following processes:

    • Strategy Management For IT Services

    • Service Portfolio Management

    • Business Relationship Management

    • Financial Management For IT Services

    • Demand Management

  2. Service Design :

    ITIL Service Design (SD) focuses on designing the IT services and covers the main architectures, policies, processes, and documentation associated with this task. Knowledge of ITIL Service Design enables ITSM professionals to design appropriate services that meet the organizational needs.

    • Design Coordination

    • Service Catalog Management

    • Service Level Management

    • Availability Management

    • Capacity Management

    • IT Service Continuity Management

    • Information Security Management

    • Supplier Management

  3. Service Transition :

    The ITIL Service Transition certification course will take you through the principles and processes of service transition. The course offers guidelines for managing people, organizing resources and evaluating technology, among other aspects of management.

    • Transition Planning & Support

    • Change Management

    • Service Asset & Configuration Management

    • Release & Deployment Management

    • Service Validation & Testing

    • Change Evaluation

    • Knowledge Management

  4. Service Operation :

    The ITIL Intermediate Service Operation certification course will train you in the principles, processes, common activities and functions that help organize IT service operation in a company.

    • Event Management

    • Incident Management

    • Request Fulfillment

    • Problem Management

    • Access Management

  5. Continual Service Improvement :

    ITIL Intermediate Continual Service Improvement (CSI) focuses on how organizations and individuals can strategically review the products and services they have produced following the strategy, design, transition and operation stages of the ITIL Service Lifecycle.

    • Seven-Step Improvement Process

    • IT Operations

    • Technical Management

    • Application Management

    • Service Desk

Benefits of ITIL Foundation

An ITIL Foundation certified IT professional can provide the following benefits to the organization:

  • Increasing the revenue generation

  • Improving the user and customer satisfaction

  • Provide better visibility for the organization

  • Market new services or products more effectively

  • Making quick decisions

  • Reduce the repetition of work

  • Increasing business productivity

ITIL Foundation Certification helps the candidates to understand the basics of ITIL and learn how to implement it in the workplace. This course literally lays the foundation for a future as an ITIL Expert. Finishing the course with the required number of PDUs will allow the candidate to pursue higher levels of certification in ITIL.

Request for Training

Phone number ( required * )

You may select multiple Courses
Live virtual classroom
Select your preferred mode of contact

By clicking "Submit", you agree to our Terms of Conditions, Privacy Policy.
© 2021 Invensis Learning Pvt Ltd.
  • PMI®, PMP®, CAPM®, PMI-ACP®, PMBOK are registered marks of the Project Management Institute. Inc.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • PRINCE2® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • The Swirl logoTM is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved
  • The Course on this page is offered by Invensis Learning, an Affiliate of Quint Consulting Services, an Accredited Training Organisation of The APM Group Ltd
  • DevOps Foundation® is registerd mark of the DevOps institute
  • COBIT® is a trademark of ISACA® registered in the United States and other countries
  • CSM, A-CSM, CSPO, A-CSPO, and CAL are registered trademarks of Scrum Alliance
  • Invensis Learning is an Accredited Training Provider of EXIN for all their certification courses and exams