PMI-ACP® Training Syllabus

A complete outline of the current PMI-ACI® course syllabus

PMI® Agile Certified Practitioner, commonly called PMI-ACP®, is one of the most popular and fastest-growing project management certifications in the global market. Taking the certification improves your understanding of Agile practices and increase team productivity. Let’s explore what the syllabus of a PMI-ACP® course looks like.

PMI-ACP® Training Syllabus Outline

The PMI® Agile Certified Practitioner course syllabus is primarily outlined by the PMBOK Guide. As per this guide, the course syllabus includes seven domains practices that are necessary to pass the Agile Certified Practitioner exam.

Domain Practice
Domain I Agile Principles and Mindset
Domain II Value-driven Delivery
Domain III Stakeholder Engagement
Domain IV Team Performance
Domain V Adaptive Planning
Domain VI Problem Detection and Resolution
Domain VII Continuous Improvement

A Detailed Look at PMI-ACP® Syllabus

The PMI-ACP® exam requires you to complete 21 hours of ACP education to be eligible for the exam. Taking the PMI-ACP® certificate will help you complete these 21 training hours. The detailed syllabus of the Agile Certified Professional is as given below.

Domain Practice Methodologies Included
I - Agile Principles and Mindset
  • Agile Manifesto and 12 Agile Manifesto Principles
  • Agile Project Management Fundamentals
  • Agile Methodologies
  • Self-organization
II - Value-driven Delivery
  • Value-based prioritization
  • Value Prioritization Scheme
  • Minimal Viable Product
  • Earned Value Management for Agile products
III - Stakeholder Engagement
  • Stakeholder management
  • Knowledge sharing
  • Participatory decision models
  • Active listening
  • Conflict resolution
IV - Team Performance
  • Team formation stages (formation, storming, normation, performing, adjourning)
  • Building empowering teams
  • Tabaka’s model for high-performing teams
  • High-performing vs. low-performing team
V - Adaptive Planning
  • Agile planning stages
  • Agile planning artifacts and meetings
  • Agile planning teams
  • Agile modeling
VI - Problem Detection and Resolution
  • Risk management
  • Problem detection
  • Problem resolution
VII - Continuous Improvement
  • Integration, testing, and experiments
  • Review and retrospective
  • Value stream analysis and mapping

PMI-ACP Course Syllabus FAQs


The PMI-ACP® course syllabus allows you to learn various concepts like interpersonal skills, conflict relationship, on-time delivery, risk management, and more.

Each domain listed in the Agile Certified Practitioner syllabus has a different value in the PMI-ACP® exam. The below table shows the details of the domain and the percentage value in the ACP exam.

Domain Practice Value in Exam
Domain I Agile Principles and Mindset 16%
Domain II Value-driven Delivery 20%
Domain III Stakeholder Engagement 17%
Domain IV Team Performance 16%
Domain V Adaptive Planning 12%
Domain VI Problem Detection and Resolution 10%
Domain VII Continuous Improvement 9%

Apart from the basic training, the PMI-ACP® Course outline also includes Agile Tools and Technologies that learners need to master for the Agile Certified Practitioner exam. These tools include:

    • Agile Analysis and Design
    • Agile Estimation
    • Metrics
    • Communication
    • Process Improvement
    • Product Quality
    • Planning and Monitoring
    • Risk Management
    • Value-based prioritization
Corporate Group Training
  • Customized Training
  • Onsite / Virtual
  • Instructor-led Delivery
  • For small to large groups

PMI-Agile®Certification Syllabus

  • Agile principles and practices
  • Creating high-performance teams who deliver results on a consistent basis
  • Techniques used for actively managing project scope and ensuring delivery of the best products possible
  • Implementing multi iterative development models for projects
  • Delivering high Velocity Stories and Epics
  • New ways of managing project scope, schedule, budget and quality that are easily improved through effective Agile controls
  • Applying powerful metrics across projects to ensure continuous improvement
  • Common pitfalls while adopting Agile practices
  • Agile principles of Scrum, Kanban, XP, and TDD
  • Knowledge and skills required to clear PMI-ACP certification exam

Download detailed course syllabus

Download (PDF)

FAQs on PMI-ACP Exam Prep

Who should take up the PMI-ACP course?

Job roles that can benefit from PMI-ACP training include, but are not limited to:

  • Project Managers
  • Project Planners
  • Consultants
  • Quality Assurance Staff
  • Developers / Programmers
  • Designers
  • Testers
  • Project Controllers
  • Product Owners
  • Scrum Masters
  • Scrum Team Members
  • Anyone looking to gain knowledge of managing agile projects and understand how Agile is applied and practiced in a project environment

To be eligible for the PMI-ACP certification, you must meet certain educational and professional requirements:

  • Educational Background: Secondary Degree (high school diploma, associate's degree or global equivalent).
  • General Project Experience: 2,000 hours (12 months) in project teams, which must have been acquired in the last five years.
  • Agile Project Experience: A minimum of 1,500 hours (8 months) in project teams or teams that employed agile methodologies. This experience should have been earned in the last three years and these hours should be in addition to the 2,000 hours of general project experience.
  • Training in Agile Practices: 21 contact hours in Agile practices.

PMI-ACP Exam Format:

  • Type: Multiple choice questions
  • No Of Questions: 120
  • Result: The passing score is determined by psychometric analysis

Corporate Training Solutions

  • Experienced & Industry Specific Trainers
  • Deliver sessions across continents via Live Online
  • Training in your Language
  • Customized Trainings

Training partner for Fortune 1000 companies

Request for Training

Phone number ( required * )

You may select multiple Courses
Select your preferred mode of contact

By clicking "Submit", you agree to our Terms of Conditions, Privacy Policy.

Get the Invensis Learning Advantage

Highly qualified and Accredited Trainers

Training Satisfaction Guaranteed

Accredited High-Quality Courseware

Reinforce with Retrospective Session

Choose from a Wide Range of Courses

Access to all our Latest Resources

© 2021 Invensis Inc.
  • PMI®, PMP®, CAPM®, PMI-ACP®, PMBOK® and the PMI Registered Education Provider logo are registered marks of the Project Management Institute. Inc.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • PRINCE2® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • PRINCE2 Agile® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • AgileSHIFT® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • The Swirl logoTM is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved
  • DevOps Foundation® is registerd mark of the DevOps institute
  • COBIT® is a trademark of ISACA® registered in the United States and other countries
  • CSM, A-CSM, CSPO, A-CSPO, and CAL are registered trademarks of Scrum Alliance
  • Invensis Learning is an Accredited Training Provider of EXIN for all their certification courses and exams