PMP Exam is Changing from January 2021

Get PMP certification and be on a safer side before the new version comes into effect!

Initially in June 2019, PMI announced that the PMP exam will be changing and the new exam will go into effect from 1st July 2020. But, considering the Coronavirus outbreak, PMI has postponed the exam change until 2nd January 2021. Though the change doesn’t result in more complexity of the exam but affects the exam objectives and pattern that brings in some uncertainty. So, if you have already started your PMP journey, just go ahead and get certified before 31st December 2020 to be on a safer side. This postponement will offer you additional time and access to training resources to help you prepare and sit for the exam confidently.

As time flies fast, it could be a bit harder to clear the exam in your 1st attempt before the last day of the current version of the PMP exam expires. Hence, it's recommended to take the training that gives practical knowledge required to prepare and clear the exam easily and this would happen if you are registering now and clearing it before 31st December 2020. The training at Invensis Learning will be delivered by accredited and highly knowledgeable trainers who help the candidates learn more in less time.

Dates and Deadlines

  • 30th June 2019- The new PMP Exam Content Outline is published
  • 31st December 2020- Last day to attempt the current PMP Exam.
  • 2nd January 2021- The first day to attempt the new PMP Exam.

What’s there in the PMP Certification Exam PMBOK® Guide – Sixth Edition?

The current PMP exam consists of 5 domains which are basically different project lifecycle stages. The table below shows the domains and percentage of each domain that will cover in the PMP exam:

Domain Percentage
I.Initiating 13%
II.Planning 4%
III.Executing 31%
IV.Monitoring and Controlling 25%
V.Closing 7%

What’s new in the upcoming PMP exam change

The new PMP exam is based on 3 domains and its percentage share is shown in the table below:

Domain Percentage
I.People 42%
II.Process 50%
III.Business Environment 8%

Both the domains of the current and the new PMP exam will have some predefined tasks, whereas a new term ‘enablers’ is added to the new PMP exam. Let’s see what the domains, tasks, and enablers mean:

  • Domain- High-level knowledge area that is essential for project management practice
  • Tasks- Project manager responsibilities in all the domain areas
  • Enablers- Clear examples of the work that is relevant to the task.

The exam is changing from five domains to three domains, forty-two tasks to thirty-five tasks and the biggest change is that the new PMP exam will have 50% of the questions based on the predictive project management approaches and the other 50% on agile or hybrid approaches.

Why You Should Take the Exam Before 31st December?

  • Since the content is fairly new, the exam could be tougher than the current exam format.
  • The format contains majority of questions from agile approach, it could be new for a lot of aspirants.
  • Currently, there has not been any addition of the study materials which makes it even more difficult since most of the exam is based on 2 domains entirely.

FAQs on PMP Exam Change


PMI conducts research every 3 to 5 years to understand the impact of the latest trends on the project management profession, its advancements, and the change in the project manager’s responsibilities. The recent research is conducted in 2019 which prompted the “New PMP Exam Content Outline”.

No, the 6th edition of the PMBOK® guide remains the same for the new PMP exam changes. One has to refer to the same for the PMP exam preparation regardless of taking the exam before 31st December 2020 or after.

In general, the PMP exam is difficult and certainly, the new PMP exam will be harder to clear because of the new topics and the methods added.

If you have already planned to get the PMP certification and started your journey, then it is better to get it before 31st December 2020 only. But, don’t worry if you are new and find any difficulties to achieve it before 31st December 2020. Good practice and proper guidance will help you to get certified even after 31st December 2020.

Syllabus of PMP Certification Training

  • Proven leadership skills & techniques
  • How to communicate effectively?
  • How to create an effective project Schedule?
  • Project Risk Management
  • Ability to create an atmosphere of trust
  • Decision making skills
  • Managing conflicts
  • Agile way of project management

Download detailed course syllabus

Download (PDF)

FAQs on PMP Certification

For how long does the PMP certification stay valid?

The PMP Certification is valid for three years, starting from the day the candidate clears the exam. In this period, the candidate must earn 60 PDUs to maintain the PMP credential after the completion of 3 years.

The PMP Certification Exam cost is USD 405 for members and USD 555 for non-members.

The project management experience is any work that is spent planning and executing projects. This may include any work related to initial planning, time management, execution, budget allocation, risk management, etc.

Corporate Training Solutions

  • Experienced & Industry Specific Trainers
  • Deliver sessions across continents via Live Online
  • Training in your Language
  • Customized Trainings

Training partner for Fortune 1000 companies

Request for Training

Phone number ( required * )

You may select multiple Courses
Live virtual classroom
Select your preferred mode of contact

By clicking "Submit", you agree to our Terms of Conditions, Privacy Policy.

Get the Invensis Learning Advantage

Highly qualified and Accredited Trainers

Training Satisfaction Guaranteed

Accredited High-Quality Courseware

Reinforce with Retrospective Session

Choose from a Wide Range of Courses

Access to all our Latest Resources

© 2021 Invensis Inc.
  • PMI®, PMP®, CAPM®, PMI-ACP®, PMBOK® and the PMI Registered Education Provider logo are registered marks of the Project Management Institute. Inc.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • PRINCE2® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • PRINCE2 Agile® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • AgileSHIFT® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • The Swirl logoTM is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved
  • DevOps Foundation® is registerd mark of the DevOps institute
  • COBIT® is a trademark of ISACA® registered in the United States and other countries
  • CSM, A-CSM, CSPO, A-CSPO, and CAL are registered trademarks of Scrum Alliance
  • Invensis Learning is an Accredited Training Provider of EXIN for all their certification courses and exams