ITIL 4 certification levels

The various ITIL 4 certification levels that participants must know about

ITIL 4 has been developed to assist the organizations to attain excellence in providing a better solution to the increasing customer requirements in the existing digital environment.

The ITIL 4 certification paths provide a modular approach to the ITL framework and focus on various aspects of ITL best practices in depth.

Recently we have seen a clear transition journey from ITIL v3 to ITIL 4. Candidates qualifying ITIL v3 Foundation can directly move to ITIL 4 Foundation to keep their skills up-to-date.

Overview of ITIL 4 certification levels

There are various updates in the certification levels in this new version. They are as mentioned below:

  1. ITIL 4 Foundation Level

    ITIL 4 Foundation certification provides an introduction to ITIL 4. It allows the candidates to take a glance through IT service management through the end-to-end operating model and continual improvement of tech-enabled products.

    This course is beneficial for candidates who are interested in pursuing a career in IT service management.

    ITIL 4 Foundation certification will provide understanding on:

    • The guiding principles of ITIL 4.
    • The dimensions of IT service management.
    • Key concepts of Agile, DevOps, Leans, and how these can deliver business value.
    • An all-inclusive approach to facilitate co-creation of value with the customer and other stakeholders in the form of products and services.
  2. ITIL 4 Managing Professional

    ITIL 4 Managing Professional certification includes four modules. They are:

    • ITIL 4 Specialist Create, Deliver, and Support
    • ITIL 4 Specialist Drive Stakeholder Value
    • ITIL 4 Specialist High Velocity IT
    • ITIL 4 Strategist Direct, Plan, and Improve
  3. ITIL 4 Managing Professional level is designed for IT practitioners. If one has 17 credits through ITIL v3 certification scheme, then they are eligible to take this certification level.

  4. ITIL 4 Strategic Leader

    The ITIL 4 Strategic Leader course is just not for professionals involved in IT operations; instead, they are designed for digitally equipped assistance. The course demonstrates a thorough understanding of how IT influences and directs the business strategy.

    The two modules of IT SL certification are:

    • ITIL 4 Strategist Direct, Plan, and Improve.
    • ITIL 4 Leader Digital and IT strategy

    To clear ITIL 4 Managing Professional or ITIL 4 Strategic Leader certification, you need to clear two modules from each with ITIL 4 Strategist Direct, Plan and Improve being the common module for both the levels.

  5. ITIL 4 Master Level

    Upon completing all the modules from ITIL 4 MP and SL certification paths, you will be qualified to take up ITIL Master Level Certification.

    ITIL Master Level certification validates your capability to implement IT Service management principles, techniques, and methods. Candidates taking this certification should be able to explain how to attain desired business outcomes through practical assignments.

    There is no specific course and syllabus to qualify this level, as you will be tested based on the nature of the situation you choose.

    To attain this certification, you need to possess practical experience in handling ITIL and showcasing your involvement in implementing the practices.

FAQs on ITIL 4 Certification Levels


In some of the certifications like ITIL 4 Managing Professional, and other advanced level certifications, you may need a few credits as a prerequisite where the training from an ATO is mandatory. Apart from providing an easier way to gain credits, the training programs helps you in grasping the concept not just to prepare you for an exam, but to establish an enriching and deep understanding of the ITIL 4 concepts. For more details on ITIL 4 certification training, contact us at

The ITIL 4 Certifications are best for people working in IT service management industry looking for an in depth knowledge of ITIL conepts and practices. Their objectives may range from business strategy and outcomes with efficient service management as they move forward from entry level certifications to the advanced level ITIL 4 certifications.

Syllabus of ITIL 4 Foundation Training

  • Key concepts and guiding principles of the ITIL 4 framework
  • Understand the Service Value system and the four dimensions of Service Management
  • Knowledge of the link between ITIL 4 and other practices such as Agile, DevOps, and Lean
  • ITIL management practices, and more

Download detailed course syllabus

Download Syllabus

FAQs on ITIL 4 Foundation

Why take up ITIL 4 Foundation Course?

Participants attending this ITIL 4 Foundation training will gain knowledge of ITIL 4 concepts and terminology, develop IT practices using ITIL guidelines, recognizing the importance of IT and business integration, and exploring the service value chain within the organization.

After completing your ITIL 4 Foundation training, you will gain fundamental understanding of:

  • Key concepts and guiding principles of the ITIL 4 framework
  • Service Value System and the four dimensions of Service Management
  • Knowledge of the link between ITIL 4 and other practices such as Agile, DevOps, and Lean
  • ITIL management practices, and more

Job roles that can benefit from ITIL 4 Foundation training include, but are not limited to:

  • IT Professionals
  • ITSM Managers
  • Individuals working in the areas of IT (Digital, Product, Development)
  • Service Managers
  • Database Administrators
  • Software Professionals
  • Service Process Owners
  • Individuals starting their journey in Service Management
  • Existing ITIL qualification holders

There are no pre-requisites to take up the ITIL 4 Foundation Exam, although having basic knowledge of Service Management concepts will be helpful.

  • Type: Multiple Choice Questions - 40 questions
  • Duration: 60 Minutes (1 hour)
  • Result: 26 out of 40 (65% pass mark)
  • Open book: No
  • Language: English

Corporate Training Solutions

  • Experienced & Industry Specific Trainers
  • Deliver sessions across continents via Live Online
  • Training in your Language
  • Customized Trainings

Training partner for Fortune 1000 companies

Request for Training

Phone number ( required * )

You may select multiple Courses
Live virtual classroom
Select your preferred mode of contact

By clicking "Submit", you agree to our Terms of Conditions, Privacy Policy.

Get the Invensis Learning Advantage

Highly qualified and Accredited Trainers

Training Satisfaction Guaranteed

Accredited High-Quality Courseware

Reinforce with Retrospective Session

Choose from a Wide Range of Courses

Access to all our Latest Resources

© 2021 Invensis Learning Pvt Ltd.
  • PMI®, PMP®, CAPM®, PMI-ACP®, PMBOK are registered marks of the Project Management Institute. Inc.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • PRINCE2® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited
  • The Swirl logoTM is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved
  • The Course on this page is offered by Invensis Learning, an Affiliate of Quint Consulting Services, an Accredited Training Organisation of The APM Group Ltd
  • DevOps Foundation® is registerd mark of the DevOps institute
  • COBIT® is a trademark of ISACA® registered in the United States and other countries
  • CSM, A-CSM, CSPO, A-CSPO, and CAL are registered trademarks of Scrum Alliance
  • Invensis Learning is an Accredited Training Provider of EXIN for all their certification courses and exams